Quest Magazine - Home

Independent resettlement & recruitment guide for serving Armed Forces & Veterans

Spending options

Spending options


27 May, 2021

Once your ELC claim has been approved, you’ll find plenty of study and training course choices open to you …

ELC are available for full- or part-time study for a qualification at level 3 or above, as defined by the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), or level 6 or above on the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF),* with an organisation on the Approved Providers list held by ELCAS and viewable on its website

The qualification you choose could take the form of an A-level or an equivalent award. You may also use ELC to fund anything above that level too, like university modules or nationally recognised diplomas. This might include:

  • foundation degrees
  • postgraduate qualifications
  • other academic qualifications
  • professional self-development
  • accreditation of prior learning
  • vocational training
  • registration and accreditation fees
  • sports qualifications
  • overseas qualifications
  • resettlement training (during last two years of service only).

To find out more about accessing higher-level study in particular, take a look at our HE-focused feature

* Although the NQF has been replaced by, first, the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) and subsequently the RQF, national standards and qualifications remain defined within the nine levels of the NQF, which is still referred to in JSP 822. Further details of the different qualification frameworks and levels can be found in JSP 822, downloadable from the ELCAS website


Before deciding on a course, you should consider:

  • its relevance to your personal development plan
  • your ability to undertake it
  • likely disruptions to Service requirements
  • the flexibility of the study method.